LP10 – Design Principles

C.R.A.P.

http://www.userfocus.co.uk/articles/A_CRAP_way_to_improve_usability.html

C.R.A.P. is an acronym standing for contrast, repetition, alignment, and proximity.  If an individual follows these set of rule, their design should be an above average design and more user friendly.  This design principle can be used in any type of design.  For instance, it can be used for fliers, brochures, magazines, t-shirts, business cards and websites.  In the article linked above, it discusses the concept of using C.R.A.P. to improve usability on websites.

In the contrast section, it states that contrast helps direct a viewers eyes to whats important and helps them focus on what to to next.  The writer shows three different designs of a submit button.  With the first design, the submit and cancel button are almost identical.  It gives a user a choice yet.  In the second design, the cancel button isn’t bolded anymore.  Basically, it gives a user less of a choice visually.  The third design, I wouldn’t use.  If I had to design this, to make the submit button stand out more, I would change the color of the submit button to increase the chances of a user clicking on it.

Design Layout

http://www.creativebloq.com/netmag/create-balanced-page-layouts-7-pro-tips-121310009

Design layout is how a page is structured to give a balanced look.  There may be a specific look a designer is trying to achieve.  Most of the time, designers will go with a symmetrical look versus an asymmetrical one.  Asymmetrical designs are used sparingly to hook in audiences. It can be a simple tag line or few words on a slant but the rest of the design probably shouldn’t follow that slant degree.  The article linked above states seven professional tips to create a balanced page layout.

  1. Use a grid
  2. Choose a single focal point
  3. Use the rule of thirds
  4. Use white space
  5. Repeat design elements
  6. Use hierarchy
  7. Use contrast, scale and harmony

I thought that these set of rules were pretty interesting.  To me, the most important one would be white space.  With the correct use of white space, it could create a great focal point.  Positioning is everything with white space.  It’s a great way to hook a audiences’ attention.  Sometimes, focal points can be very simple with little information.  In the information, people can then look it up in a web browser search to get more information.

14 Myths About Graphics Designers

http://www.idesigni.co.uk/blog/14-facts-about-graphic-designers-everyone-thinks-are-true/

I was browsing through Google and I found this article.  It’s 14 myths that the general public think about graphics designers.  I have to admit, I did think that some of these things were true.  The graphics designer in my current team is a very talented individual and with that in mind, I have very high expectations from him.  Of course, I’m not going to judge him negatively if his work doesn’t come up to my exceptions or how I planned it on turning out.  Number 11 myth states that graphics designers can read minds.  I kind of took it for granted and assumed that he understood the terminologies that I was using and understood my ideas that I was trying to communicate.  When they didn’t turn out the way I had imagined and explained them, I was flexible enough to accept them as his interpretations and go with them.  With a group being flexible and adaptive to all situations, it can reduce stress and create a tighter bond between group members.

Leave a Reply

